Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Report guidance

Hi, I have this week downloaded Portfolio Slicer and also Power BI. So I am brand new to both. What I have seen of your work and the software I can see great advantages for me.

I have been running my portfolios in excel and have been extracting performance / tracking from this data base. I had not found other commercial solutions that were able to emulate my objectives. So having seen what you have prepared I am excited about this as an improvement to my process. I have entered some of my earlier data and after some toing and froing I am comfortable with this aspect.

In your PortfolioSlicerC2.3 power BI I see in the reports file that you have a "Profit" [Profit = Report[Dividends] + Report[Capital Gain]]

I am trying to use this data to create a visualization to simulate what I have done in excel. Examples are in the attached pdf files After a few attempts I am not achieving an outcome.

Are you able to guide me here. I have tried copying and then modifying the visulaisation on your "Daily Movment" tab which is showing "Total value of investment" - but withoutr luck.

Let me know if this is too big an ask. I know that I could spend a day or 2 and possibly not get where I need to - but possibly then throw my hands up and say it is too hard.

Comments

• Hi,

What you are trying to do requires one more Date dimension Date2 that is not in current structure. You need that extra Date2 dimension to specify from when to start calculating accumulated profit.
    It would be fairly simply to add calculation for accumulated profit from the start of your data. For that you would just create new DAX calculation:
    Profit from Start = CALCULATE(Report[Profit], DATESBETWEEN('Dates'[Date], BLANK(), LASTDATE('Dates'[Date])))